The Palace

The former imperial ecclesiastical principality and Benedictine monastery of St. Emmeram has been in the hands of the princely house of Thurn and Taxis since 1812. In the course of the 19th century, the complex, consisting of several hundred rooms, was furnished as a princely residence. Today, it belongs to the largest private palaces in Europe. St. Emmeram accommodates the domicile of the princely family, the princely administration and the princely museums.

The museums, palace, cloister and stables convey a broad impression of the more than 500-year history of the house of Thurn and Taxis, the 1000-year monastic tradition and the life style of one of the most important aristocratic families in Germany. Visitors can experience the atmosphere of the Middle Ages in the cloister or the splendour of the Rococo in the palace. The museum shop offers a refined selection of souvenirs and presents. Numerous rooms in the palace can be hired for special occasions.

First-class events such as the Thurn and Taxis open-air festival in July or the Christmas market allow St. Emmeram Palace to be experienced in a particularly beautiful manner.